Latest Issue of Garabandal International Magazine

Posted: April 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

Pope Francis happens to be the cover story of the APR-JUN 2013 issue of the 24-page Garabandal International magazine which is available online for your reading pleasure, please click here.

 

APR-JUN 2013 issue of Garabandal International magazineAPR-JUN 2013 issue of Garabandal International magazine

On Line Read the APR-JUN 2013 issue of Garabandal International magazine http://www.garabandal.com/garabandal-magazine/view-magazine
Comments
  1. WALTR P. ANDERSEN says:

    My mother would like to subscribe to the Australian magazine again

  2. jane Cerrone says:

    Hello everyone, I just have one comment to say. Conchita said that she was going to call Joey L. eight days before the miracle. He would have been 86 on 10/16/16. So does anyone think we are very very close to the warning?

  3. Sara Rzeppa says:

    I would like to be removed from you mailing. How do I go about doing this? Thank you!

    God bless,
    Sara

  4. A LAYMAN’S FURTHER THOUGHTS ON THE MIRACULOUS EVENTS SAN SEBASTIAN DE GARABANDAL IN NORTHERN SPAIN
    Gerald P. Curran, DipTheolStuds. (Melbourne)


    The beginning of my journey.

    For those that do not know, the village of San Sebastian de Garabandal in northern Spain was the site of apparitions of Our Lady, Mary, the mother of Jesus, in the 1960’s. The seers involved were four young local village girls. They claimed that during the apparitions Our Lady revealed to them certain singular events that were to take place. Among the singular events were to be the Tribulation, the Warning, the Miracle and the Permanent Sign. Many people, including myself, think that the ‘apparitions’ were miraculous. Over the intervening years, the local hierarchy have tended to describe them as being ‘non-spiritual’.
    I first heard about San Sabastian de Garabandal when I was still living in my native Dublin, Ireland. It was about 1967. By 1975 I had moved to Melbourne, Australia. One day, as I was passing ‘Pellegrino’s’ Catholic book shop in that city, I spotted a book in the window titled: ‘Garabandal, The Village Speaks’. Not long afterwards I was a devotee at the Garabandal prayer meetings near Saint Ignatius’ Parish Church in Melbourne. I attended at least one Garabandal conference where Joey Lomangino was the guest speaker. I also met the husband and wife, founders of the movement in Australia. So many blessings! Well, I finally got to San Sebastian de Garabandal on March 28 this year, AD 2016. So many years later!

    Our Pilgrimage.

    My wife and I had been visiting a town near Malaga in the South of Spain when we decided to take a quick pilgrimage to the site of Our Lady’s apparitions. When we got to Garabandal we spent our days praying at The Pines and attending Holy Mass at the village chapel. It was low season and there were very few pilgrims. There was plenty of opportunity for quiet prayer. On March 31st, 2016 we started our journey back to the South of Spain and our return to America. Suddenly it dawned on me, that my right leg had been healed. Let me tell you about my right leg. My right foot and ankle had been damaged at birth and often gave me problems. My right leg had been damaged during a job I had while working in Australia. Visits to a physiotherapist gave me relief from pain for a while, but pain would reoccur at intervals. In 2009 I had an Inguinal Hernia operation on my right side. Something had gone wrong during the operation and the nerves in my groin had been damaged. As you can guess my entire right leg had become quite a mess. Now I realized that it had been completely healed at Garabandal. I was stunned.

    Rethinking my understanding.

    Before we left Garabandal I had heard a Dutch woman talk about having been healed of asthma. But then I remembered hearing that there would not be healings at Garabandal until the time of the Miracle, as related by the seers. At that time everyone in ‘the valley’ would be healed. It dawned on me that, if people are getting healed today, is it possible that the Miracle had already taken place? Conchita Gonzalez, one of the visionaries, was supposed to receive a heavenly notification as to when the Miracle was about to take place. Had Conchita missed the notification? I know that she had gone through some kind of denial phase. Had the notification come during her denial phase? Had she been packing for a trip to New York? Had the Miracle already passed by – without anybody noticing? Was ‘the valley’ a spiritual valley such as the one mentioned in Psalm 23? Would I have to change my thinking? When I returned home I would look into possible time frames to see if the Miracle of Garabandal could have taken place already. I realized that I might have to change my preconceived ideas.

    Certain elements seem to fall into place.

    Sometimes we think of the miraculous events at San Sebastian de Garabandal as being all about the seers, the village and the valley. The events began during the Second Vatican Council – but was there a connection to the council? The proclamation by Saint Michael on June 18th 1965 occurred six months before the end of Vatican II and Pope Paul VI mounted the throne of Saint Peter about 18 months before the end. As I alluded to before, there has been the suggestion by certain local bishops that the events at Garabandal were not spiritual. But could it be that there was a deep spiritual connection. After my look into possible time frames for the events I now believe that there was. Surely there was a profound spiritual struggle going on during the latter part of the Council. It seems to me that the events at Garabandal had a major, and spiritually positive, influence on the results. I feel confident enough to suggest that the Tribulation, the Warning and the Miracle spoken about by the seers can all be associated with Vatican II and Pope Paul VI.

    Was this the Tribulation, and does it continue?

    Pope Paul VI had mounted the chair of Saint Peter June 21 1983. There were 18 months remaining until the end of Vatican II, it ended on December 8th 1965. On June 18th 1965 there was an astonishing message delivered by Saint Michael to the seers at Garabandal (see footnote 1). The message admonished ‘Cardinals, Bishops and Priests’ and was, more likely than not, aimed at members of the Council. It seems that at that time certain members of the hierarchy were “hell bent” on introducing errors into the Church. At this stage it would have been most evident that junior clergy, religious and the laity were extremely anxious as to the changes that might take place in the Church. They had no idea as to what might happen. I suggest that the spiritual anguish experienced during Vatican II, which continued in the aftermath of the council and which probably continues to this day is that time of the Tribulation referred to by the seers.

    Was this the media’s part?

    Italian television crews had begun to turn up at Garabandal. They would have been there for the Message of Saint Michael. There is every possibility that Pope Paul VI or his assistants would have heard the ominous message of Saint Michael on Italian television. Did God use the strange happenings at Garabandal, as relayed on modern media, to alert the Pope to the perilous condition of Vatican II? Within three months of Saint Michael’s message the Pope had published the first of five stern encyclicals (see footnote 2). The first was called ‘The Mystery of Faith’, and was on the doctrine and worship of the Eucharist. It was promulgated on September 3rd 1965. Saint Michael’s Message would have confirmed any fears of Pope Paul that certain elements in the Council were on a downward spiral. The encyclical on the Eucharist was his first response. There were three more encyclicals in succession before what might have been the Warning spoken of by the seers? Humana Vitae rattled the Church to its core and shockwaves went around the world. I was living in London, England, at the time and reading excerpts from the encyclical in the newspapers shook me to my core. It was as though I was shaken out of a blissful dream – by hard reality. I believe that news about Humana Vitae was published by news outlets around the world and I have no doubt that countless individuals had the same experience as me. I have learned since that time that there was tumult in the Church in the United States as a result of Humana Vitae and I’m sure that the same tumult was replicated around the world. There is no doubt that the encyclical served as a warning. I suggest that Human Vitae was the Warning spoken of by the seers.

    Was this when the Miracle occurred?

    If it is indeed true that Humana Vitae was the Warning spoken about by Our Lady and which I mention above, then the Miracle was foretold to take place the following year. The following year was 1969. A prime candidate for the date of the Miracle would be the day of the promulgation of the Pauline Novo Ordo of the Mass. The Miracle may have coincided with this historical event or, conversely, the Pauline Mass might have been part of the Miracle itself. Pope Paul VI promulgated the revised rite of the Mass with his Apostolic Constitution Missale Romanum on 3 April 1969. It had been almost 400 years, or 12 generations, since the adoption of the Tridentine Mass. Certainly here was a singular event. We do not know the full extent of turmoil in the Church or to what extent there was “pushback” against new forms of the liturgy. We do know that Cardinal Ottaviani and Cardinal Bacci, along with a sizable group of bishops, wrote to Pope Paul in an attempt to get him to reject the Novo Ordo. There may also have been an effort to have the Crucifix symbol, and even the Sign of the Cross, removed from Catholic worship.

    Is this the Permanent Sign?

    The beginning of Christian resistance to the Muslim occupation of the Spanish peninsula is commemorated at Cova Donga, a shrine which is in about 30 miles in a direct line from San Sebastian de Garabandal (about a one and a half hour mountainous drive). Catholic Visigoths, who had migrated into Northern Spain, seem to have been a match for Muslim warriors, and were able to defeat them in a historically important battle in 722 AD. It is not too great a stretch of the imagination to think that there was desecration of Christian images and symbols by Muslims in the area of present day San Sebastian de Garabandal at that time. It’s conceivable that the punishment for making the Sign of the Cross was death or mutilation. Our Lady’s saying that there would be the Permanent Sign at Garabandal means that the Sign of the Cross will for evermore be traced and prayed by the faithful at the Pines. Never again will Muslim invaders denigrate the Faith at San Sebastian de Garabandal (see footnote 3).

    Footnote 1:
    ‘As my Message of the 18th of October has not been complied with, and as it has not been made known to the world, I am telling you that this is the last one. Previously, the Cup was filling; now, it is brimming over. Many cardinals, many bishops and many priests are following the road to perdition, and with them they are taking many souls. Ever less importance is being given to the Holy Eucharist. We should turn the wrath of God away from us by our own efforts. If you ask His forgiveness with a sincere heart. He will pardon you. I, your Mother, through the intercession of St. Michael the Archangel, wish to tell you that you should make amends. You are now being given the last warnings. I love you very much, and I do not want your condemnation…Reflect on the Passion of Jesus’.

    Footnote 2:
    List of last five Encyclicals of Pope Paul VI
    No. Title (Latin)
    Title (English translation)
    Subject Date
    3. Mysterium fidei
    “Mystery of Faith” On the Doctrine and Worship of the Eucharist 3 September 1965
    4. Christi Matri
    “Mother of Christ” On Mary, Mother of Jesus 15 September 1966
    5. Populorum progressio
    “On the Progression of Peoples” 26 March 1967
    6. Sacerdotalis caelibatus
    “On Priestly Celibacy” 24 June 1967
    7. Humanae vitae
    “On Human Life” 25 July 1968

    Notice that at least four of the last five Encyclicals of Pope Paul VI are about bedrock tenets of Catholic belief. They were all written after Saint Michael’s message at Garabandal.

    Footnote 3:
    It is interesting to note that similar promises of a permanent sign have been made in at least one other site of Marian apparitions which were once victimized by Muslim conquerors.

    Footnote 4:
    Note: much of the research used herewith involved the use of Internet websites.

Leave a Reply

